Home Contact De Fr En
ExpeditionsSwiss in the HimalayasResearchAnniversary Celebration
Expeditions SFAR:
Himalayas 1939
Himalayas 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalayas 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 50/53
Everest 1952
Spring

Autumn

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Historical Images
Expedition 1952
Expedition 1956

Expeditions supported by the SFAR
Swiss Expedition in Tibesti – Central Sahara

Excerpt from: Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research, 1939 to 1970. Published in Zurich in 1972

Participants: Dr. med. Edouard Wyss-Dunant, Marcel Chappot, Herbert Hildebrand, Dr. Kurt Tschudi.

Outcome: Geographical exploration of the mountainous region of Tibesti; Ascent of Ehi Musgu (3100 m), Ehi Timi (3040 m), Pic Botum (2400 m) and Aiguille Botum (2000 m); anthropological observations in western Tibesti.

 

Tibesti is the highest mountain region in central Sahara, with a large number of extinct volcanoes of over 3000 metres in height, hot dry valleys with scattered oases and a sparse, mostly nomadic population. Politically, the region lies in northern Chad, with a small section in southern Libya. At the time of this expedition, it belonged to the French colony of Chad (French equatorial Africa).

 

The German explorer Nachtigall was the first European to enter Tibesti, in 1869. Later, only a few (mainly military) French and Italian expeditions passed through the sparsely-populated desert landscape, which was largely still unknown and untouched in terms of mountaineering. The participants in the expedition described here were experienced mountaineers from Geneva, with an equal interest in science and in mountaineering. They were carefully prepared and had secured the assistance of the French colonial authorities. The relatively modest means with which the trip was undertaken were contributed by the participants themselves.

The expedition used a Jeep as a patrol vehicle, and a Dodge truck with a trailer. Each vehicle was equipped with an extra fuel container, which contained a total of 1060 litres of petrol. This guaranteed a range of a thousand kilometres. Eight 20-litre containers held enough water supply for six days, i.e. the longest stretch without finding any water.

 

Central Sahara: a 9600 km long expedition stretching from the Mediterranean sea to the equatorial region of Africa. About 4000 km was driven on rough roads, while about 2000 km was driven completely without any roads. In the really mountainous region, 400 km was travelled by camel and (mainly) on foot. The French colonial civilian and military authorities played a crucial and generous part in the success of the expedition. A film was produced by all four participants.

 

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA

Home Contact De Fr En
Expéditions Les Suisses dans l'Himalaya Recherches Jubilé
SFAR-Expéditions:
Himalaya 1939
Himalaya 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalaya 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 1950/53
Everest 1952
Printemps

Automne

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Photos historiques
Expédition 1952

Expédition 1956

Les expéditions bénéficiant du soutien de la FSRA
Expédition suisse au Tibesti – au coeur du Sahara

Extrait de: Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines de 1939 à 1970. Publié en 1972 à Zurich

Participants: Dr méd. Edouard Wyss-Dunant, Marcel Chappot, Herbert Hildebrand, Dr Kurt Tschudi.

Résultats: reconnaissance géographique de la région montagneuse du Tibesti; ascension du Ehi Musgu (3100 m), Ehi Timi (3040 m), Pic Botum (2400 m) et du Aiguille Botum (2000 m); observation anthropologique à l’ouest du Tibesti.

Le Tibesti représente la région montagneuse la plus élevée du Sahara central et abrite une population nomade plutôt réduite. Il doit son caractère typique aux innombrables volcans inactifs d’une attitude de plus de 3000 mètres, aux vallées dotées d’un climat sec et torride ainsi qu’aux oasis répandues sur toute la région. Politiquement parlant, elle est située au nord du Tchad et pour une petite partie, au sud de la Libye. La région appartenait alors à la colonie française du Tchad (Afrique Equatoriale Française).

En 1869, le chercheur allemand Nachtigall fut le premier Européen à mettre les pieds au Tibesti. Plus tard, la région désertique et montagneuse, alors encore inconnue et vierge en matière d’alpinisme, vit le passage d’expéditions militaires surtout françaises et italiennes. Les membres de notre groupe, des alpinistes d’origine genevoise ayant fait leurs preuves, avaient un intérêt aussi bien scientifique que sportif. La préparation du voyage avait été minutieuse et le soutien des services de la colonie française était garanti. Le voyage fut effectué avec un équipement plutôt modeste, fourni par les membres de l’équipe.

L’expédition disposait d’un véhicule patrouilleur Jeep et d’une camionnette Dodge avec remorque. Chaque véhicule était équipé d’une soute de carburant supplémentaire d’une capacité totale de 1060 litres, à même de garantir un parcours de mille kilomètres. Une réserve d’eau de six jours qui comprenait huit bidons de 20 litres avait été prévue pour le plus long trajet sans eau.

Expédition au Sahara central: le voyage, d’une distance de 9600 km, menait de la mer Méditerranée à la région équatoriale de l’Afrique. Le trajet fut principalement effectué à pied et à dos de chameau sur 4000 km de pistes cahoteuses, 2000 km hors-piste, 400 km de région principalement montagneuse.

La réussite de l’expédition était en grande partie due au soutien méritoire des services civils et militaires de la colonie. Les quatre membres du groupe tournèrent un film.

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA