Home Contact De Fr En
ExpeditionsSwiss in the HimalayasResearchAnniversary Celebration
Expeditions SFAR:
Himalayas 1939
Himalayas 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalayas 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 50/53
Everest 1952
Spring

Autumn

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Historical Images
Expedition 1952
Expedition 1956

Expedition supported by the SFAR
Dittert expedition to the Garhwal Himalaya in 1950

Excerpt from: Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research, 1939 to 1970. Published in Zurich in 1972

Participants: René Dittert, expedition leader; Dr. Alfred Tissieres; Dr. Gabriel Chevalley; Prof. Kenneth Berrill.

Outcomes: First ascent of Abi Gamin (7355 m), Exploration in the Garhwal-Tibet border area.

.

Several Swiss expeditions had already been active in the Garhwal Himalayan region: the scientific expedition run by geologists Arnold Heim and August Gansser in 1937, a group of mountaineers under the leadership of André Roch, which climbed Dunagiri (7066 m) in 1939, and the Lohner-Sutter expedition in 1947, the most important result of which was the ascent of Satopanth (7075 m).

This new Garhwal expedition was initiated by the Swiss Dr. med. Alfred Tissierès and two Englishmen, Prof. Michael Vyvyen and Prof. Kenneth Berill, who were all working at the University of Cambridge. They were joined by Dr. med. Chevalley, who was friend of Tissières, and was a doctor in Bex. Prof. Vyvyen was the only one of these men who had any experience of the Himalayas.

 

The undertaking was initially planned as a small, easy expedition of a purely private nature, to be conducted during the university vacations, from the beginning of July to the end of September. The Foundation became a patron of the enterprise at a later stage, making it possible for René Dittert from Geneva to join the existing group. He had already proven himself on two Himalayan expeditions. His experience and mountaineering flair made him the natural choice as expedition leader. Unfortunately, Vyvyen had to withdraw from participation in the end, though he had played a major role in the preparations.

Almost all of this expedition took place during the monsoon period, which made the goals it achieved doubly remarkable.

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA

Home Contact De Fr En
Expéditions Les Suisses dans l'Himalaya Recherches Jubilé
SFAR-Expéditions:
Himalaya 1939
Himalaya 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalaya 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 1950/53
Everest 1952
Printemps

Automne

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Photos historiques
Expédition 1952

Expédition 1956

Expédition bénéficiant du soutien de la FSRA
Expédition Dittert dans l’Himalaya Garhwal en 1950

Extrait de: Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines de 1939 à 1970. Publié en 1972 à Zurich


Participants: René Dittert, directeur de l’expédition; Dr Alfred Tissières; Dr Gabriel Chevalley; Prof. Kenneth Berrill.

Résultats: première ascension du Abi Gamin (7355 m), reconnaissance de la zone frontalière du Garhwal et du Tibet.

 

Plusieurs expéditions suisses avaient déjà été menées dans la région de l’Himalaya Garhwal: l’expédition scientifique des deux géologues Arnold Heim et August Gansser en 1937, un groupe d’alpinistes sous la direction d’André Roch avec l’ascension du Dunagiri (7066 m) en 1939 et l’expédition Lohner-Sutter en 1947, l’événement majeur étant l’ascension du Satopanth (7075 m).

 

Les initiateurs de cette nouvelle expédition au Garhwal étaient le Suisse Dr méd.

Alfred Tissières, les deux Britanniques Prof. Michael VyvyJen et Prof. Kenneth Berill) tous deux travaillant à l’Université de Cambridge. Le Dr méd. Chevalley, médecin à Bex et ami de Tissières, se joignit au groupe. Le Prof. Vyvyen étant pourtant le seul du groupe à avoir une expérience de la région de l’Himalaya.

La petite expédition légère, à caractère initialement privé, était supposée avoir lieu pendant les vacances universitaires allant du début du mois de juillet à la fin du mois de septembre. La fondation se chargea plus tard de la direction et permit la participation du Genevois René Dittert, qui avait déjà fait ses preuves au cours de deux expéditions dans l’Himalaya. Son expérience ainsi que l’enthousiasme propre à l’alpinisme firent de lui le directeur d’expédition rêvé. Vyvyen, qui avait considérablement participé aux préparatifs du voyage, ne fut finalement pas en mesure de faire partie de l’expédition.

 

Etant donné que la plus grande partie de l’expédition eut lieu pendant la période des pluies torrentielles, les objectifs atteints par le groupe sont doublement méritoires.

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA