Home Contact De Fr En
ExpeditionsSwiss in the HimalayasResearchAnniversary Celebration
Expeditions SFAR:
Himalayas 1939
Himalayas 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalayas 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 50/53
Everest 1952
Spring

Autumn

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Historical Images
Expedition 1952
Expedition 1956

Expedition with support from SFAR

The Swiss Mount Everest/Lhotse Expedition 1956

Excerpt from: Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research 1939 to 1970. Published in Zurich 1972


Participants: Albert Eggler, expedition leader; Wolfgang Diehl, deputy leader; Hans Grimm; Hansrudolf von Gunten; Fritz Luchsinger; Jürg Marmet; Ernst Reiss; Dölf Reist; Ernst Schmied; Eduard Leuthold, expedition physician; Fritz Müller, geographer and glaciologist.

Results: Second ascent of Mount Everest (8850 m), first ascent of Lhotse (8501 m). Glaciological and meteorological observations of the Khumbu glacier region.

 

After the second Everest expedition returned in 1952, the Foundation asked for permission to conduct a third expedition. Othmar Gurtner drew up the plans for this effort. In September 1953 (after Everest had been climbed for the first time), the Nepalese government gave the Foundation permission to carry out research across the whole of the Everest massif throughout the year 1954. Shortly thereafter, it was announced that an expedition from the «Daily Mail» had received permission to explore the Khumbu glacier region to find the legendary «Yeti». This was the same area that the Foundation had planned to research, and it therefore decided to cancel its expedition for 1954. In 1955 Dyhrenfurth Senior and Junior applied to climb Lhotse. Once again, this expedition was in competition with the Foundation’s plans, which were therefore renounced for 1955. The Dyhrenfurth expedition was forced to turn back after having reached a height of around 8,100 metres on Lhotse, but it did bring back the documentation on which Erwin Schneider’s maps of Mount Everest were based.

The Foundation then started working on a new project for 1956. Changes were made to the 1954 plans, which were mainly intended to serve the aims of scientific exploration. Instead, the Foundation outlined a mountain-climbing expedition involving a team of first-class mountaineers. The aim was to climb Everest for the second time, and Lhotse for the first time. Less emphasis was placed on the scientific aspects.

In December 1955, the Foundation published an appeal for a national subscription scheme.

The expedition had a total budget of 295,000 Swiss Francs (the actual cost was 360,000 Swiss Francs). The money was raised, and various companies made generous donations of deliveries in kind. The expedition was officially named the “Schweizerische Mount Everest-Expedition 1956”.

The ideal leader for the expedition was found in Albert Eggler (43). As leader of the mountain troops and a veteran of AAC Bern, Eggler already knew the other candidates personally: Ernst Reiss (36), an aeroplane mechanic from Brienz, had already been on the South Col of Everest in 1952; Jürg Marmet (29), born in Spiez, was a trained mountain guide, chemist and oxygen specialist living in Zurich. The core of the future expedition had already been formed by this trio in the spring of 1955. The Foundation sent a letter to around 20 of the best mountaineers in German-speaking Switzerland in order to recruit the rest of the expedition. The following members were selected from the large number of applicants: Dölf Reist (35) from Interlaken, aeroplane mechanic and photographer (part of Reiss’s rope team); Fritz Luchsinger (35), instructional officer in Thun, also part of the rope team with Reiss and Reist; together, the three formed an outstanding Berner Oberländer rope team; Wolfgang Diehl (48) from AAC Bern, a lawyer and Greenland specialist with extensive Alpine experience; he was the senior member of the expedition and acted as deputy leader; Hansruedi von Gunten (28), a chemist, also from AAC Bern, and his brother-in-law Ernst Schmied (32), both «apprentices» to Diehl. These three also formed an excellent rope team. Hans Grimm (44), a dentist from Wädenswil, was also an experienced mountaineer; Fritz Müller (30) from Zurich, geographer and glaciologist, accompanied the team as an independent scientist; at the last minute, Eduard Leuthold (28), a doctor from Zurich, was found to accompany the climbers as the expedition’s physician. He was certainly given the chance to prove his worth. The composition of the entire team was very homogeneous. They completed a military mountaineering course in summer 1955, followed by avalanche and explosives training in January 1956. They prepared themselves thoroughly and in every respect for the challenge ahead. As the strategist of the group, Eggler developed a precise operational plan. The approach to Everest would have to take place between May 20 and June 10. According to meteorological records, the last week in May would be the best time to attempt climbing the Eight-Thousanders in Nepal. The entire journey, including the timetable, loads and number of necessary carriers, was planned with these dates in mind. Marmet recommended using a lighter French oxygen tank (light Makahn model), featuring open circulation and an improved mask, which Marmet simplified even further. The team took 22 units, which proved their worth extremely well. The entire unit weighed 6.6 kilograms, much lighter than the devices used by the 1952 expedition, which weighed 14.2 kilograms.

The first team of six participants sailed from Genoa to Mumbai (Bombay), where they were delayed for a full week by customs officials. From there, they travelled by train to Patua. Eggler and Müller flew directly to Delhi to get visas for Nepal, and then on to Katmandu, where they obtained a special visa for Lhotse. In Nepal, climbers usually only receive permission to climb one mountain. Luckily, all of these formalities were organised without difficulty. The team hired an excellent liaison officer to assist in these efforts; a student named Prachand Nan Singh Pradhan. On March 2, the entire group gathered in the border town of Jaynagar, with the exception of Grimm and Marmet, who joined them later with the oxygen supply. Sirdar Pasang Dawa Lama joined the team here, with 22 Sherpas from Darjeeling. The entire group then started off with buffalo carts on the familiar path to Chisapani. From there, they continued onwards with 350 porters to Thare-Jubing and then Namche Bazaar, where the team set up base above the village on March 21. About 20 cm of snow fell the next day. The five-hour march to the monastery settlement of Thangboche followed on March 24. Only 150 porters were still with the group, and it was necessary to organise additional support. Everything had gone well up to this point, but then Luchsinger became ill with acute appendicitis.

The Lama, or abbot, of the monastery in Thangboche provided a room for the sick climber. Unfortunately, this room lacked one very important quality: heat. Luchsinger’s condition seemed critical at times, leading to considerations of an emergency operation. In the end, the young expedition doctor, Eduard Leuthold, proved his abilities by achieving success with treatment based on medication. Shortly thereafter, Wolfgang Diehl began to show signs of a lung infection following a training stint. This was cured successfully using intensive oxygen treatment. Finally, the Sirdar of the expedition, Pasang Dawa Lama, was unable to continue because of a high fever. Leuthold accompanied him to Namche Bazaar, where he recovered. Pasang’s brother-in-law, Dawag Tenzing, proved to be an outstanding replacement.

During the acclimatisation phase, the team climbed several less challenging mountains, as well as a few un-named five-thousand-meter peaks. Base camp (5,370 m) was set up on April 7. From there, the expedition set off to conquer the famous Khumbu icefall. The team did not experience any difficulty as far as Camp I (5,800 m) in the hollow of the glacier. The problems started to appear on the way to Camp II (6,110 m) at the start of the Western Cwm, the most dangerous part of the icefall. The large lateral crevasses were at least four meters wide, and the team managed to get across using two light metal ladders bolted together. Several ice blasts were necessary to make the way secure. Camp III (6,400 m) was developed as a forward base.

On May 1, the team built Camp IV (6,800 m) on the lowest terrace of the Lhotse Face. Luchsinger had recovered from his appendicitis and rejoined the team here. Camp V (7,400 m) was set up on a terrace below the «Yellow Band» on May 6. From here, a cross path was created using rope railings, as an access to the lower station of a rope winch lift in the Lhotse Face. The upper station was located near Camp VIa, under the «Geneva Spur». While the rope winch was in use, the weather conditions worsened and it started to snow. Luchsinger and Schmied, who were at Camp VIa, decided to climb down to Camp V, but it became necessary to leave Camps V and IV for a period of time due to the continued snowfall. The weather cleared up again on May 14, but strong winds covered the tracks of the group, making it necessary to clear the path to Camp VIa and onto the «Geneva Spur » over and over again. On the evening of May 17, Reiss and Luchsinger were at Camp VIa, Reist and Gunten at Camp V, Eggler and Schmied at Camp IV and everyone else at Camp III.

 

The surprise attack on Lhotse

After a cold night (-25° C at Camp V), Ernst Reiss and Fritz Luchsinger started their approach to the summit of Lhotse (8,501 m) on May 18 and crossed into the Lhotse couloir. They reached the crux around noon, and managed to overcome it using pitons. Six hours after leaving Camp VIa, the two climbers had reached the jagged peak of Lhotse. They stood in the sun on the sharp summit for forty-five minutes. With no place to sit, they had to be especially careful when taking photographs from the peak. The view onto the jagged, desolate ridges of Lhotse and over to Everest was of a magnificent wildness. Their oxygen was used up, the winds were getting stronger, their hands and feet were becoming numb – it was high time to come down. The climbers carefully edged their way down the extremely steep and exposed slopes of fresh snow, moving one at a time. The large traverse brought them back to Camp VIa. At 6:15 p.m., the two stood exhausted and happy before their empty tent, which had collapsed under the snow. After shovelling out the tent, they ended their tough 12-hour day by crawling inside and into their sleeping bags. Next day, they climbed down the mountain, stopping at Camps V and IV before reaching Camp III, where they quickly recuperated.

The ascent of Lhotse meant that Swiss mountain climbers had reached the summit of an Eight-Thousander for the first time ever.

 

The ascent of Everest

On May 21, Camp VIa was moved over the «Geneva Spur» (8020 m) to the South Col (7,986 m). The new Camp VIb was located approximately 100 metres west of the camp set up by the 1953 British expedition. Here, our climbers found many useful items, edible food rations and oxygen cylinders. On the afternoon of May 22, following light snow in the morning, the first rope team set off for the summit: Ernst Schmied and Jürg Marmet with four Sherpas.

The climbers used oxygen in their ascent. After two hours, the team reached the 8250 m point, where Raymond Lambert and Sherpa Tenzing set up their highest tent camp in May 1952. At around 8,400 metres, west of the ridge edge, they found a small depression that was suitable for a tent camp. The four Sherpas were sent back to Camp VIb while Schmied and Marmet set up Camp VII with a small two-person tent. Because of the strong winds, the tent had to be weighted down with stones and fixed using pitons. Both climbers were well equipped, with an air mattress, a double sleeping bag made of down, a joint bivouac sack made of nylon, a small stove, a summit package full of necessary provisions and five full oxygen cylinders. During the night, the heavy snow weighed the tent down so much that the climbers had to uncover it to avoid being suffocated. They had to wait until 8:30 a.m. to start their approach. The weather was still very stormy, which made the team doubt their chance of success. However, the winds gradually calmed down, and the two climbers reached the top of the South Summit (8,760 m) at about midday. A ridge of loose limestone with massive overhanging snow cornices led to the main summit. The weather had finally cleared up, revealing clear blue skies. A steep 15-metre-high stage challenged the climbers just below the summit, with a spur leading up between rock and snow. Schmied worked his way up step by step, followed closely by Marmet. At 2:00 p.m. on May 23, people stood on the highest summit on earth for the second time. Schmied attached the flags of Nepal, Switzerland and Bern to his ice pick, while Marmet’s camera recorded pictures of the unique panorama. The winds were calm, allowing them to take off their oxygen masks and stay on the peak for nearly an hour. Then they were suddenly surrounded by dense fog, forcing them to make a fast descent. At 5:00 p.m. they reached Camp VII, where they found the second team of Dölf Reist, Hansruedi von Gunten and a Sherpa busy shovelling out the snow-covered tent. The Sherpa accompanied Schmied and Marmet on their rope, and they continued down to the South Col, reaching Camp VIb shortly before 7:00 p.m.

The second team of Reist and von Gunten were also successful in reaching the summit. The night was very cold once again, but the next day, May 24, was the most beautiful and calm day of the past several weeks. The team began their approach at 6:45 a.m., enabling them to enjoy a short rest at the South Summit. When they approached the traverse to the main summit, with the cornices that looked so treacherous, they found clear tracks left by Schmied and Marmet. They were even able to follow the steps of their predecessors at the steepest point of the climb, and reached the summit at 11:00 a.m. The weather was bitterly cold but absolutely still. The team rested at the summit for two whole hours, taking off the oxygen masks from time to time. Large clouds approached from the south, indicating that the monsoon would arrive before long. The climbers descended in great shape and record time, reaching the South Col, lying almost 1,000 metres below, just two hours later, at 3:00 p.m.

After some hesitation, Eggler decided not to send another rope team to the summit. The monsoon was approaching, and it seemed wiser and more sensible to descend. Luchsinger, Reiss, Müller and Leuthold climbed to the South Col, and then the entire team started their descent to base camp, where everyone arrived in a healthy condition on May 29. The great adventure had thus come to an end.

Apart from the couple of cases of illness suffered during the approach, this expedition had enjoyed excellent luck, especially with regard to the rare good weather. However, the main reason for the success of the expedition was the careful organisation, competent leadership and (most of all) the good will and cohesion within the entire team. This was one of the most successful expeditions in the history of the Himalayas. It also marked the positive conclusion of a program to which the foundation had devoted five long years of hard work.

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA

Home Contact De Fr En
Expéditions Les Suisses dans l'Himalaya Recherches Jubilé
SFAR-Expéditions:
Himalaya 1939
Himalaya 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalaya 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 1950/53
Everest 1952
Printemps

Automne

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Photos historiques
Expédition 1952

Expédition 1956

Expédition bénéficiant du soutien de la FSRA
Expédition suisse Everest Lhotse en 1956

Extrait de: Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines de 1939 à 1970. Publié en 1972 à Zurich


Participants: Albert Eggler, directeur de l’expédition; Wolfgang Diehl, remplaçant; Hans Grimm; Hansrudolf von Gunten; Fritz Luchsinger; Jürg Marmet; Ernst Reiss; Dölf Reist; Ernst Schmied; Eduard Leuthold, médecin de l’expédition; Fritz Müller, géographe et glaciologue.

Résultats: seconde ascension du Mont Everest (8850m), ascension initiale du Lhotse (8501 m). Observations glaciologiques et météorologiques dans la région glaciaire du Khumbu.

 

Après le retour de la seconde expédition sur l’Everest en 1952, la fondation demanda l’autorisation en vue d’une troisième expédition et Othmar Gurtner s’occupa de la planification. En septembre 1953 (suite à l’ascension initiale de l’Everest!), le gouvernement népalais donna finalement son accord pour des recherches sur le massif de l’Everest durant une année entière en 1954. Peu après, l’expédition «Daily Mail» avait apparemment obtenu l’autorisation pour la reconnaissance de la région glaciaire du Khumbu et était allée à la découverte du légendaire «Yeti». Comme la fondation venait d’opter pour la même région, on décida d’annuler l’expédition de 1954. En 1955, les Dyhrenfurth père et fils déposèrent leur candidature pour une ascension du Lhotse. Puisque cette expédition concurrençait visiblement les plans de la fondation, celle-ci renonça une seconde fois au plan de 1955. L’expédition Dyhrenfurth au Lhotse s’avoua vaincue à une altitude d’env. 8100 mètres. Néanmoins les alpinistes furent, malgré tout, en mesure de fournir la documentation nécessaire à la production de la carte de l’Everest, carte produite par Erwin Schneider.

 

En 1956, la fondation s’attaqua enfin à un nouveau projet tout en modifiant le plan élaboré en 1954. L’objectif primordial visait une reconnaissance scientifique. Au lieu de cela, une expédition d’alpinisme composée d’une équipe de très bons escaladeurs fut mise sur pied. Une seconde ascension de l’Everest commença ainsi qu’une ascension initiale du Lhotse. La science pour sa part se retrouva reléguée au second plan.

 

En décembre 1955, la fondation lança une souscription à l’échelle nationale.

 

L’expédition disposait d’un budget de 295 000 francs suisses (les frais effectifs se montant à 360 000 francs suisses). La somme requise fut réunie grâce à des donations généreuses provenant de nombreuses entreprises industrielles qui livrèrent entre autres beaucoup de produits de la terre. L’expédition fut officiellement baptisée Expédition Suisse du Mont Everest en 1956.

 

Albert Eggler (43), capitaine de l’équipe alpine et vétéran de l’AAC Berne, fut nommé directeur de l’expédition. Il connaissait déjà personnellement les membres de l’équipe. Ernst Reiss (36), de Brienz, mécanicien dans le domaine des transports aériens, avait auparavant exploré la croupe sud de l’Everest en 1952; Jürg Marmet (29), Zurich, né à Spiez, était guide de montagne diplômé et chimiste spécialisé en oxygène. Au printemps 1955 déjà, le trio formait le noyau de la future expédition. La fondation procéda au recrutement des derniers membres de l’équipe en adressant une demande aux 20 alpinistes les plus renommés de la Suisse alémanique. Une fois la sélection minutieuse des dossiers d’inscription effectuée, on opta pour les participants suivants: Dölf Reist (35), Interlaken, mécanicien dans le domaine aérien et photographe (membre de la cordée de Reiss); Fritz Luchsinger (35), officier instructeur à Thun, également un des camarades de Reiss et Reist: ils formaient la formidable cordée de „l’Oberland bernois“; Wolfgang Diehl (48), AAC Berne, juriste, spécialiste du Groenland, alpiniste très expérimenté et senior, représentant en chef de l’expédition; Hansruedi von Gunten (28), également membre de l’AAC Berne, chimiste ainsi que son beau-frère Ernst Schmied (32), tous deux «apprentis» de Diehl. Le trio formait également une cordée passionnante; Hans Grimm (44), médecin dentiste, Wädenswil, un alpiniste ayant également fait ses preuves; Fritz Müller (30), Zurich, géographe et glaciologue, Eduard Leuthold (28), scientifique indépendant, Zurich, médecin de l’expédition, recruté à la dernière minute, eut l’occasion de faire ses preuves. L’équipe, de constitution homogène, effectua un cours alpin militaire en été 1955, puis un cours sur les avalanches et sur la disposition des explosifs en janvier 1956. Le groupe se prépara minutieusement à toutes sortes d’éventualités liées à leur future mission. Eggler, le stratège, travailla à l’élaboration d’un plan très précis. Le grand jour pour la conquête de l’Everest était prévu entre le 20 mai et le 10 juin. D’un point de vue météorologique, la dernière semaine de mai offrait des conditions climatiques favorables pour une escalade des géants népalais de la rangée des 8000 mètres. C’est en fonction de ces points de repère à l’échelle climatique que l’on constitua, à rebours, le programme définitif avec l’horaire de l’itinéraire, chargements et nombre de porteurs nécessaires. Marmet conseilla plutôt l’utilisation de la bouteille d’oxygène française pour sa légèreté (modèle léger de Makahn), à circulation ouverte, pourvue d’un masque amélioré et simplifié par Marmet. On emporta 22 appareils ayant fait leur preuve. L’équipement complet avait un poids d’environ 6,6 kilogrammes tandis que les appareils utilisés au cours de l’expédition en 1952 ne pesaient que 14,2 kilogrammes.

 

La première équipe de six membres embarqua dans le port de Gênes à destination de Bombay où elle se trouva bloquée par les postes de contrôle douaniers durant une semaine. La suite de l’itinéraire en direction de Patua put être effectuée en train. Eggler et Müller embarquèrent directement à bord de l’avion en direction de Delhi afin de se procurer les visas nécessaires pour le Népal. Ils se rendirent par la suite à Katmandou dans le but d’obtenir un visa spécial pour la région du Lhotse, le Népal ne délivrant des autorisations que pour une seule et unique ascension. Ces formalités furent heureusement réglées sans difficulté majeure. On engagea Prachand Nan Singh Pradhan, bon officier de liaison et étudiant. Le 2 mars, toute l’équipe se rassembla dans la zone frontalière du Jaynagar, à l’exception de Grimm et Marmet qui allaient suivre un peu plus tard, chargés des réserves d’oxygène. Le Lama de Sirdar Pasang Dawa avait rejoint l’équipe à cet endroit précis, accompagné de 22 sherpas en provenance de Darjeeling. Le groupe prit la fameuse route en direction de Chisapani sur les charrues à boeufs et poursuivit le voyage accompagné de 350 porteurs et porteuses. Il passa par Thare-Jubing et arriva à Namche Bazar le 21 mars. L’équipe installa son campement dans la partie supérieure du village et le lendemain, elle fut surprise par la tombée de 20 cm de neige fraîche. Le 24 mars, suite à une marche de cinq heures, l’expédition arriva au couvent de Thangboche. A ce moment, l’équipe ne comptait plus que 150 porteurs. Trouver des remplaçants devenait alors assez urgent. Les étapes avaient jusqu’ici été franchies sans problème, jusqu’au moment où Luchsinger contracta une appendicite aiguë.

 

À Thangboche, le Lama, abbé du monastère, mit une chambre à la disposition du malade, chambre malheureusement dépourvue de chauffage. La maladie évoluant dangereusement, une opération d’urgence ne pouvait pas être exclue. Finalement, Eduard Leuthold, jeune médecin de l’expédition, fit ses preuves en sauvant la situation par la prescription d’un traitement médicamenteux. Par la suite, Wolfgang Diehl attrapa à son tour une pneumonie à la suite d’une escalade d’entraînement. La maladie fut guérie grâce à un traitement intensif à l’oxygène. Basang Dawa Lama, le Sirdar de l’expédition, tomba malade lui aussi. A cause des fortes poussées de fièvre, le Lama dut être ramené à Namche Bazar en compagnie de Leuthold. Fort heureusement, le patient reprit des forces par la suite. Dawag Tenzing, le beau-père de Pasang, assura la succession de façon idéale.

 

Pendant la période d’acclimatations, le groupe se contenta de la conquête de quelques modestes massifs et de sommets inconnus dans la rangée des 5000 m. Le 7 avril, on se retira dans le campement de base (5370 m). De cet emplacement, les chutes glaciaires du Khumbu, de grande renommée, étaient facilement accessibles. De la cuvette glaciaire jusqu’au campement I (5800 m), aucune difficulté ne se présenta. L’itinéraire à destination du campement II fut bien plus difficile (6110 m) avec l’entrée dans le bassin ouest, la région de la faille glaciaire la plus sauvage. La grande fente transversale était cette fois-ci d’une largeur minimale de quatre mètres. Elle fut surmontée à l’aide de deux échelles combinées en métal léger. Pour des raisons de sécurité, l’utilisation d’explosifs s’avéra nécessaire tout au long du parcours. Le campement III (6400 m) consolidé fit dès lors office de campement de base avancé.

 

Le 1er mai, on installa le campement IV (6800 m) sur la terrasse inférieure du versant Lhotse. Luchsinger s’était entre-temps remis de son appendicite et se trouvait à nouveau parmi les participants. Le 6 mai, le campement V (7400 m) fut bâti sur une des terrasses inférieures du «Bandeau jaune». On construisit un accès sous forme de rampe transversale en corde. Pourvue d’un ascenseur manuel inférieur, elle menait à la station tout en partant du «Bandeau jaune» sur le flanc du Lhotse. La station supérieure se trouvait près du campement VIa sous „l’épaule genevoise“. Alors que l’ascenseur était en marche, les conditions météorologiques se dégradèrent et la neige se mit à tomber. Luchsinger et Schmied, présents au campement VIa, décidèrent d’entamer la descente en direction du campement V. Cependant, les tempêtes de neige persévérantes obligèrent le groupe à quitter par moments les campements V et IV. Le 14 mai, bien que marqué par des éclaircies, restait très venteux. Les tracés qui menaient au campement VIa et même jusqu’à «l’épaule genevoise» (8020 m) furent constamment balayés. Il fut donc nécessaire de reconstruire en permanence. Le 17 mai au soir, Reiss et Luchsinger occupaient le campement VIa, Reist et Gunten se trouvaient au campement V, Eggler et Schmied au campement IV, alors que le campement III était occupé par le reste des membres de l’expédition.

 

Aventure au sommet du Lhotse

Le 18 mai, après avoir passé une nuit glaciale (à moins 25 degrés Celsius dans le campement V), Ernst Reiss et Fritz Luchsinger passèrent à l’attaque du Lhotse (8501 m) en entamant la traversée du couloir. Aux environs de midi, ils arrivèrent à l’endroit crucial qu’ils surmontèrent à l’aide de crochets de montagne. Six heures après le départ du campement VIa, les deux alpinistes profitaient du soleil que leur offrait le sommet sauvage du Lhotse. Ils restèrent trois quarts d’heure sur la partie tranchante du sommet, espace très restreint où la photographie du sommet demandait une grande prudence. La vue sur les crêtes déchiquetées du Lhotse jusqu’à celles de l’Everest était d’une nature grandiose et sauvage. Alors que les réserves d’oxygène avaient été épuisées et que le vent, de plus en plus puissant rendait les mains et les pieds encore plus insensibles, la descente devenait imminente. Les deux alpinistes longèrent le névé avec une extrême prudence et appliquèrent scrupuleusement les mesures sécuritaires. La grande transversale les ramena au campement VIa. Aux environs de 18h15, ils se retrouvèrent épuisés, mais heureux devant leur tente abandonnée et, entre-temps, recouverte par la neige. Après 12 heures d’efforts constants et de coups de pelle, ils purent enfin entrer dans leur tente et retrouver leurs sacs de couchage. Le lendemain, ils entamèrent la descente en direction du campement III. Grâce aux escales effectuées aux campements V et IV, ils reprirent très rapidement des forces.

 

L’ascension du Lhotse représente la première conquête alpiniste suisse d’un sommet de la rangée des 8000 m.

 

Ascension de l’Everest

Le 21 mai, l’équipe transféra le camp VIa sur la croupe sud (7986 m) en passant par «l’épaule genevoise» (8020 m). L’emplacement du nouveau camp VIb se trouvait alors à une centaine de mètres du camp des Britanniques, lors de leur l’expédition menée en 1953. Les alpinistes firent de nombreuses trouvailles: des boîtes de conserve encore utilisables ainsi que des réserves d’oxygène. La première cordée, composée d’Ernst Schmied, de Jürg Marmet et de quatre sherpas, se mit en marche le 22 mai, pendant l’après-midi, après une légère tombée de neige matinale.

 

La montée avait nécessité un apport d’oxygène. Après deux heures de randonnée, ils atteignirent une altitude de 8250 m, emplacement du camp le plus élevé de Raymond Lambert et Sherpa Tenzing en mai 1952. Une cuvette située en bordure de la crête ouest, à une altitude de 8400 mètres, ferait office de terrain de camping idéal. Les quatre sherpas furent renvoyés au camp VIb, alors que Schmied et Marmet montèrent une petite tente double qui constituait le camp VII. Comme le vent était très violent, la tente fut stabilisée par des crochets de montagne supplémentaires et retenue au sol par des pierres. Les deux alpinistes étaient très bien équipés et disposaient de matelas gonflables, de sacs de couchage en duvet avec doublure, bivouac commun en nylon, cuisinière, provisions de montagne nécessaires et cinq réservoirs d’oxygène. Pendant la nuit, la neige avait enfoncé la tente à un tel point qu’ils se virent obligés de la dégager pour éviter l’étouffement. Ils n’entamèrent la montée que vers 8h30. Les conditions climatiques encore turbulentes les empêchaient de croire au succès. Alors que le vent avait progressivement diminué, ils atteignirent le mamelon du névé sur le sommet sud, vers 12h00. Une crête parsemée de rochers calcaires branlants menait au sommet principal. Les conditions climatiques s’étaient améliorées et le ciel était d’un bleu foncé resplendissant. Au-dessous du sommet, une étape escarpée d’environ 15 mètres de hauteur attendait encore les alpinistes – un couloir étroit caché dans les rochers menait au sommet du massif. Schmied, en tête de l’escalade, suivi de Marmet, progressait tout en taillant assidûment les marches dans la roche. Le 23 mai vers 14h 00, l’homme conquit une seconde fois l’un des sommets les plus élevés de cette planète. Schmied fixa le drapeau du Népal, de la Suisse et de Berne à son piolet, alors que Marmet immortalisait la vue panoramique unique avec sa caméra. Ils se libérèrent des masques à oxygène et comme il n’y avait pas le moindre souffle de vent, ils restèrent presque une heure au sommet. Un brouillard épais était soudainement monté et appelait à une descente rapide. Ils atteignirent le camp VII aux environs de 17h00. Là, ils rencontrèrent le deuxième groupe de Dölf Reist et Hansruedi von Gunten, accompagné d’un sherpa et occupé à libérer la tente enneigée. Schmied et Marmet intégrèrent le sherpa dans leur cordée pour entamer la descente en direction de la croupe sud et arrivèrent au camp VIb autour de 19h00.

 

La deuxième équipe Reist – von Gunten effectua aussi une montée réussie. Alors que la nuit avait à nouveau été d’un froid glacial, la journée du lendemain 24 mai fut la plus splendide depuis des semaines – sans le moindre souffle de vent. Les alpinistes se mirent en route à 6h45 et parvinrent au sommet antérieur vers 10h00 pour faire une petite pause. Ils tombèrent sur les très bonnes traces laissées par Schmied et Marmet en passant par la crête qui menait au sommet principal. Cet itinéraire n’inspirait aucunement confiance. Ils poursuivirent le tracé de leurs prédécesseurs en s’attaquant à la montée très raide qui suivit et arrivèrent au sommet aux alentours de 11h00. Alors qu’un froid sévère régnait, il n’y avait pas le moindre souffle de vent. Le groupe se débarrassa des masques à oxygène et se reposa durant deux heures au sommet du massif. De gros nuages en provenance du sud annonçaient la survenance prochaine de la mousson. Ils entamèrent la descente en pleine forme, puis arrivèrent à la croupe sud, à plus de mille mètres en dessous, vers 15h00, en un temps record de deux heures.

 

Après avoir longuement hésité, Eggler renonça finalement à une ascension supplémentaire de l’Everest. Alors que la mousson était imminente, une descente s’avérait plus prudente et plus raisonnable à la fois. De leur côté, Luchsinger, Reiss, Müller et Leuthold tentèrent une nouvelle escalade sur la croupe sud. Le groupe entama la descente en commun en direction du camp de base où tous les membres de l’équipe arrivèrent finalement sains et saufs le 29 mai. Ce fut la fin d’une grande aventure.

 

Hormis quelques incidents d’ordre médical survenus en début de voyage, l’expédition était sous une bonne étoile. Elle avait bénéficié de conditions climatiques exceptionnelles. L’organisation minutieuse, la direction compétente du chef de groupe ainsi que l’esprit d’équipe des membres de l’expédition avaient conduit à de très bons résultats. Ce fut l’une des expéditions les plus réussies dans l’histoire de l’Himalaya. La fondation avait finalisé ce projet avec succès, après avoir fourni cinq ans d’efforts assidus.

Indications


Photographies historiques des expéditions sur l’Everest
en 1952


Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA