Home Contact De Fr En
ExpeditionsSwiss in the HimalayasResearchAnniversary Celebration
Expeditions SFAR:
Himalayas 1939
Himalayas 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalayas 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 50/53
Everest 1952
Spring

Autumn

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Historical Images
Expedition 1952
Expedition 1956

Expeditions supported by the SFAR
Canadian/Swiss Baffin Island Expeditions,
1950 and 1953

Excerpt from: Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research, 1939 to 1970. Published in Zurich in 1972

These scientific expeditions were led by the Canadian Colonel P.D. Baird and organised and implemented by the Arctic Institute of North America, Montreal, in collaboration with our Foundation. The aim and task of the enterprises was primarily to carry out glaciological investigations. However, meteorological, geological, botanical and zoological observations were also gathered, and topographical and cartographical records were taken. Although the primary purpose of the expeditions was for scientific research, mountaineering results were also obtained.

 

Baffin Island is known as Baffinland in German, and is one of the largest islands on Earth. It measures 540,000 square kilometres, and is easily 13 times as large as Switzerland. It is wholly enclosed within the polar zone. Politically, it has formed part of Canada since 1896. Its entire population comprises an estimated 200 Eskimos, who live in small groups by hunting seals by the coast. They also hunt the white fox for its fur. In the past, only very few white people visited the island. There are now between 100 and 200 white people living in some coastal settlements.

 

1950 expedition

About 20 people took part in this expedition. As well as Canadians, citizens of the USA, Britons, Norwegians and Finns, they included three Swiss men: Hans Röthlisberger, Franz Elmiger and Hans Rudolf Mülli. All three were excellent mountaineers and young scientists, attached to the ETH and the University of Zurich. They were primarily engaged as mountaineers, but they also undertook scientific tasks.

 

All the participants in the expedition met in Montreal in May 1950, and travelled together from there to Baffin Island.

 

The heavier items of equipment had already been despatched by sea during the summer of the previous year. The Royal Canadian Air Force transported the participants and their equipment as far as the Clyde settlement by air, in a special plane made available by the Arctic Institute of North America. This plane could take off and land on wheels, skis or floats, depending on the conditions, and transferred the different groups of participants to their research areas, which were located in the Clyde Fjord region and in the interior, on the Barnes Ice Cap.

 

The original report contributed by the three Swiss participants to Berge der Welt (Mountains of the World) Vol. VI, 1951, also included an appendix, giving a summary of no fewer than 15 first ascents and traverses undertaken between 24th May and 28th August, mostly by all three climbers together. Two «Guests», the American Ritchie and the Scottish scholar Wynne-Edwards, also joined them on some occasions. Some of these ascents were beset by difficulties; though they may not seem very high, we must bear in mind that their point of departure lay barely above sea level. The most significant are: Walrus Head (1450 m), Three Sisters (1480 m), Lake Peak (1800 m), Crystal Peak (1550 m), Wave Crest (1750 m), Broad Peak (1820 m), Cracked Peak (1650 m) and Cock's Comb (1620 m).

 

Our Swiss team brought back a haul of rocks, plants and animals, the scientific assessment of which kept them busy for a long time. They also brought back a rich quantity of documentary photographic material, part of which was in colour.

 

1953 expedition

Seven Canadians and four Swiss participants were included in this second Baffinland expedition. Once again, the expedition was led by Colonel P. D. Baird, and the Swiss members were: Hans Röthlisberger, Jürg Marmet, F. H. Schwarzenbach and Jean Weber.

 

The aim and tasks of the expedition were more or less the same as in 1950, but the working area this time was the Cumberland peninsula in the east of Baffin Island. This is a mountainous area with boldly-formed rock peaks and plateau glaciers, at an average height of 2000 metres. Once again, the expedition was mainly mounted for scientific purposes, but it also presented some wonderful mountaineering opportunities.

 

According to the strategy worked out by Colonel Baird, an investigation would be undertaken to establish whether a corn snow area existed on the top of the Penny Ice Cap. The thickness of the ice and the speed of flow were to be measured here and at various points on the typical Highway glacier that flowed to the coast. A geomorphologic investigation of the Pangnirtung Pass region was also to be undertaken, as was a geological, botanical and zoological study of the area, in line with the particular skills and interests of the scientists involved. The months of May to August were available for this programme to be carried out.

 

The tasks demanded of our four Swiss men involved laborious work in difficult terrain, within an unexplored mountain area under polar (i.e. unusually hard) weather conditions. A programme of seismic measurements of the ice thickness was carried out under the experienced leadership of Hans Röthlisberger of the Institute of Geophysics at the ETH, and this was supplemented by geological and glaciological observations. F. H. Schwarzenbach from the Botanical Institute at the University of Zurich attended to botanical, zoological and morphological questions, while Jürg Marmet from the Institute of Hygiene and Employment Physiology at the ETH carried out physiological observations. All four of these participants were also experienced mountaineers, and whenever their primary scientific duties allowed, they enjoyed the particularly exciting task of exploring and ascending completely new terrain.

           

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA

Home Contact De Fr En
Expéditions Les Suisses dans l'Himalaya Recherches Jubilé
SFAR-Expéditions:
Himalaya 1939
Himalaya 1947
Sahara 1948
Himalaya 1949
Karakoram 1947
Garhwal 1950
Baffin Island 1950/53
Everest 1952
Printemps

Automne

Everest/Lhotse 1956
Photos historiques
Expédition 1952

Expédition 1956

Expédition bénéficiant du soutien de la FSRA
Expédition helvético-canadienne sur l'Île de Baffin en 1950 et 1953

Extrait de:Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines de 1939 à 1970. Publié en 1972 à Zurich


Les expéditions à caractère scientifique, dirigées par le colonel canadien
P.D. Baird, furent organisées et réalisées par notre fondation en étroite collaboration avec "l’Arctic Institute of North America" à Montréal. L’un des objectifs principaux de ce voyage était la conduite de recherches glaciaires, ainsi que des observations sur les plans météorologique, géologique, botanique et zoologique. Les enregistrements topographiques et cartographiques étaient également à l’ordre du jour. Les expéditions destinées en priorité à la recherche scientifiques donnèrent également de bons résultats sur le plan de l’alpinisme.

Baffin Island ("Île de Baffin"), territoire d’une superficie de plus de 540 000 kilomètres carrés, soit 13 fois la superficie de la Suisse, constitue l’une des plus grandes îles du globe. Entièrement située en zone polaire, elle appartient sur le plan politique au Canada et ce, depuis 1896. Cette île abrite une population d’esquimaux regroupant environ 200 individus et qui vivent sur la côte en petits groupes. Ils chassent le renard blanc pour sa fourrure. Ces esquimaux vivent principalement de la chasse aux phoques. Les Occidentaux se firent rares dans la région. De nos jours, l’île abrite entre 100 et 200 Occidentaux habitant dans des colonies situées près des rives

 

Expédition en 1950

L’expédition comptait au total 20 membres. En plus des Canadiens, des Américains, des Anglais, des Norvégiens et des Finlandais, trois Suisses étaient de la partie: Hans Röthlisberger, Franz Elmiger et Hans Rudolf Mülli, alpinistes dévoués, jeunes scientifiques et membres de l’EPF ainsi que de l’Université de Zurich. Choisis tout d’abord pour leurs qualités d’alpinistes, ils s’engagèrent aussi sur le plan scientifique.

 

Tous les participants se retrouvèrent en mai 1950 à Montréal, d’où ils partirent pour l’Île de Baffin.  

L’équipement lourd avait déjà été expédié par voie maritime au cours de l’été précédent. La Royal Canadien Air s’occupa du transport aérien des participants de même que de leur équipement jusqu’à la colonie du Clyde. L’Arctic Institute of North America a, quant à lui, fourni un avion spécialisé disposant d’un mode d’atterrissage et de décollage multifonctionnel: terrestre, sur piste de neige ou nautique. Les participants, répartis dans divers groupes, furent ainsi déposés sur leurs sites scientifiques respectifs situés dans les régions du Clyde Fjord et à l’intérieur du pays, sur la calotte glaciaire Barnes.

 

Le rapport authentique, rédigé par les trois Suisses, est complété par une liste énumérant les 15 ascensions et traversées initiales, réalisées en commun entre le 24 mai et le 28 août. Deux hôtes, l’Américain Ritchie ainsi que le savant écossais Wynne-Edwards avaient déjà participé à ces rudes expéditions. L’expédition, bien qu’effectuée à une altitude apparemment modeste, partait d’un point de repère se trouvant pas trop loin au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Nous aimerions citer quelques exemples majeurs: Walrus Head (1450 m), Three Sisters (1480 m), Lake Peak (1800 m), Crystal Peak (1550 m), Wave Crest (1750 m), Broad Peak (1820 m), Cracked Peak (1650 m), Cock's Comb (1620 m).

 

Notre équipe suisse ramena une admirable collection de pierres, de plantes et d’animaux, objets de valeur scientifique dont l’évaluation respective dura plusieurs mois: elle ramena également des photographies documentées partiellement en couleurs.


Expédition en 1953

Cette deuxième expédition sur l’île de Baffin, fut effectuée sous la direction compétente du Colonel P. D. Baird. Le groupe était composé de sept Canadiens et de quatre Suisses: Hans Röthlisberger, Jürg Marmet, F. H. Schwarzenbach et Jean Weber.

 

Même si les objectifs de l’expédition restèrent similaires à celles de 1950,

la région choisie cette fois-ci fut la presqu’île du Cumberland, située à l’est de l’Île de Baffin. La région montagneuse, composée de massifs audacieux et de plateaux de glaciers, se trouvait à une altitude de plus de 2000 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. L’expédition, au préalable de nature scientifique, offrait simultanément de formidables possibilités alpines.

 

Le Colonel Baird établit un plan visant à mettre en exergue l’existence d’une région de névé sur les hauteurs de la calotte glaciaire Penny. On procéda ainsi au mesurage de l’épaisseur de la glace ainsi que de la vitesse du courant à divers emplacements du glacier dont la fonte coulait sur l’autoroute. La région du Col de Pangnirtung était sujette à des examens d’ordre géomorphologique. Les chercheurs avaient prévu la période de mai à août pour un passage de la région au peigne fin, selon leur spécialité et leurs intérêts individuels, axé sur les secteurs géologiques, botaniques et zoologiques.

 

Les quatre chercheurs suisses se trouvèrent ainsi face à une mission exigeant l’accomplissement de travaux ardus dans une région montagneuse jusqu’alors inexplorée, dans des conditions climatiques polaires particulièrement rudes. Un horaire de travail fut élaboré sous la direction expérimenté de Hans Röthlisberger de l’institut de géophysique à l’EPF. Ce programme prévoyait le mesurage séismique de l’épaisseur de la glace et fut complété par des observations sur le plan géologique et glaciaire. F. H. Schwarzenbach de l’Institut de Botanique de l’Université de Zurich s’occupa de questions d’ordre botanique, zoologique et morphologique. Jürg Marmet de l’Institut sur l’Hygiène et la Physiologie du travail de l’EPF se livra à des observations physiologiques. Les marches et les escalades qu’ils effectuaient en ces régions inconnues dans la mesure où leurs travaux scientifiques – activité prioritaire- le leur permettaient, contribuaient à leur procurer un immense plaisir.

Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research . Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung . Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines . Fondazione Svizzera per Ricerche Alpine
SFAR . SSAF . FSRA . FSRA